Coverage, this period's allowable increase, notice periods, just cause and relocation — straight from the official sources, each linked and dated. 3 items are marked "not verified": we would rather show no figure than a guessed one.
State law also applies here: California (statewide — Tenant Protection Act, AB 1482).
aro scope
Apartment Rent Ordinance (ARO): apartments in buildings of 3 or more units built and occupied before September 7, 1979.
San José Apartment Rent Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
tpo scope
Tenant Protection Ordinance (TPO) coverage per the City's eviction-process page; unit-count threshold not stated there.
San José Tenant Protection Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
aro max pct
Maximum 5%, once in a 12-month period. Increases after a voluntary vacancy or lawful eviction are exempt; capital-improvement pass-through (≤3%) and fair-return petitions available.
San José Apartment Rent Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
rent increase notice days
Not verified — no figure shown. City page read did not restate the notice period; state law applies (30 days ≤10%, 90 days >10%).
reasons
13 just causes. Reasons 9–13 are no-fault and require relocation assistance.
San José Tenant Protection Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
no fault amounts
Relocation for TPO reasons 9–13, by unit size. The City page does not state the effective period of these amounts — confirm before paying.
San José Tenant Protection Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
termination notice requirements
TPO termination-notice requirements.
San José Tenant Protection Ordinance · official source · verified October 25, 2026
rent registry
Not verified — no figure shown. The Rent Registry requirement page was not reachable from the build environment on 2026-10-25. Not asserted.
violation
Not verified — no figure shown. Not stated on the pages read. Not asserted.
Generate a rent-increase, just-cause termination or relocation notice built from these exact figures, with the required city language.
See notices →Rules change — last verified October 25, 2026. Dataset: legal-facts/v1, jurisdiction ca-san-jose.