Coverage, this period's allowable increase, notice periods, just cause and relocation — straight from the official sources, each linked and dated. 3 items are marked "not verified": we would rather show no figure than a guessed one.
exemptions
Most common exemptions. All units must be registered (RAD Form 1) as covered or exempt; an unregistered unit is treated as rent-controlled.
D.C. Code §42-3502.05 · official source · verified October 25, 2026
max pct Applies May 1, 2026 – April 30, 2027
Rent stabilization: CPI-W + 2% (4.1%); 2.1% for tenants who registered elderly/disability status with the Rent Administrator.
D.C. Code §42-3502.08 · official source · verified October 25, 2026
once per 12 months
Rent may be increased only once in a 12-month period; file RAD Forms 8 and 9 within 30 days of taking the increase.
D.C. Code §42-3502.08 · official source · verified October 25, 2026
rent increase notice days
Not verified — no figure shown. DHCD's Form 8 instructions give both 'at least sixty (60) calendar days in advance' and service 'at least thirty (30) days in advance' without reconciling them. Not asserted — the tool shows both and says to confirm with RAD.
Where to check: RAD Form 8 instructions
grounds notice days
Eviction only for the grounds in §42-3505.01, with these notice periods. Foreclosure is not a valid ground.
D.C. Code §42-3505.01 · official source · verified October 25, 2026
amount
Not verified — no figure shown. Relocation-assistance amounts were not stated on the pages read. Not asserted.
violation
Not verified — no figure shown. Not stated on the pages read. Not asserted.
Generate a rent-increase, just-cause termination or relocation notice built from these exact figures, with the required city language.
See notices →Rules change — last verified October 25, 2026. Dataset: legal-facts/v1, jurisdiction dc.